Subscription or API: which is cheaper for you?

Enter how you use AI and see where a plan pays off.

On the API, each message resends the earlier turns of the chat, so the input grows as a chat gets longer; the chat-length choice sets how many earlier turns ride along on average. Words become tokens at 0.7 words per token. A plan also buys the apps, file uploads, image and voice features and its own limits; the API side here prices tokens only.

Prices and limits checked on October 26, 2026 on each provider's own page. See the numbers and sources

The numbers behind this tool

Read on October 26, 2026 from each provider's own page. Prices are US dollars per million tokens, standard tier.

PlanPrice a monthWhat the price page says about usageSource
ChatGPT Free
OpenAI
$0Unlimited text chats with GPT-6 (subject to abuse guardrails); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex.chatgpt.com
ChatGPT Go
OpenAI
$5.50More messages with tools, uploads, image creation and voice than Free; may include ads. Price as shown on the page when checked; OpenAI prices Go by country.chatgpt.com
ChatGPT Plus
OpenAI
$20.00Advanced reasoning with GPT-6, expanded messages, uploads, deep research and Codex. Limits apply.chatgpt.com
ChatGPT Pro
OpenAI
$100.00From $100 a month, with three usage tiers; Pro reasoning with GPT-6 Astra.chatgpt.com
Claude Free
Anthropic
$0Free covers everyday questions.claude.com
Claude Pro
Anthropic
$20.00Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free.claude.com
Claude Max 5x
Anthropic
$100.00Max 5x includes five times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.support.claude.com
Claude Max 20x
Anthropic
$200.00Max 20x includes 20 times the Pro plan's per-session usage allowance.support.claude.com
Gemini (free)
Google
$0Not statedgemini.google
Google AI Plus
Google
$4.99Get 2x higher usage access than Free.gemini.google
Google AI Pro
Google
$19.99Get 4x higher usage access than Free.gemini.google
Google AI Ultra (5x)
Google
$99.995x higher usage limits vs. AI Progemini.google
Google AI Ultra (20x)
Google
$199.9920x higher usage limits vs. AI Progemini.google
Cursor Free
Cursor
$0Limited agent requestscursor.com
Cursor Plus
Cursor
$8.00Shared AI usage poolcursor.com
Cursor Premium
Cursor
$30.004x usage compared to Pluscursor.com
Cursor Super
Cursor
$100.0015x usage compared to Pluscursor.com
Cursor Ultra
Cursor
$200.0050x usage compared to Pluscursor.com
GitHub Copilot Free
GitHub
$0Limited chat and agent usage; 2,000 inline suggestions per monthgithub.com
GitHub Copilot Pro
GitHub
$10.00$10/month base AI credits + $5/month flex allotment; unlimited inline suggestionsgithub.com
GitHub Copilot Pro+
GitHub
$39.00$39/month base AI credits + $31/month flex allotment; unlimited inline suggestionsgithub.com
Le Chat / Vibe Pro
Mistral
$14.99Not statedmistral.ai

Model prices used for the API side

ModelInputOutputSource
OpenAI GPT-6 Astra$10.00$50.00developers.openai.com
OpenAI GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00$10.00developers.openai.com
OpenAI GPT-6 Luna$0.10$0.50developers.openai.com
Anthropic Claude Fable 5.1$10.00$50.00platform.claude.com
Anthropic Claude Opus 5.5$4.00$20.00platform.claude.com
Anthropic Claude Sonnet 5.5$2.00$10.00platform.claude.com
Anthropic Claude Haiku 5.5$0.10$0.50platform.claude.com
Google Gemini 4 Argon$2.00$10.00ai.google.dev
Google Gemini 3.8 Flash$0.75$3.75ai.google.dev
Google Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite$0.30$2.50ai.google.dev
DeepSeek DeepSeek-V4-Pro (DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813)$1.32$3.96api-docs.deepseek.com
DeepSeek DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash (DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017)$0.30$1.20api-docs.deepseek.com
xAI Grok 4.7$2.00$6.00docs.x.ai
xAI Grok 4.3$1.25$2.50docs.x.ai
Mistral Mistral Large 4$1.36$4.18docs.mistral.ai
Mistral Mistral Medium 3.5$1.50$7.50docs.mistral.ai
Mistral Mistral Small 4$0.15$0.60docs.mistral.ai

Free API tiers

  • Google: Gemini API free tier. Free tier ('Free of charge') listed for gemini-3.8-flash, gemini-3.6-flash, gemini-3.5-flash-lite, gemini-3.1-flash-lite, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flash, gemini-2.5-flash-lite and others; not available for gemini-4-argon or gemini-3.1-pro-preview. Free-tier RPM/TPM/RPD numbers are not stated on the rate-limits page ('View your active rate limits in AI Studio'). (ai.google.dev)
  • OpenAI: No free token tier for text models. Only omni-moderation-latest is priced 'Free'. File search storage and ChatKit storage include 1 GB free. (developers.openai.com)
  • DeepSeek: No free tier stated. Pricing page states no free grant amount; it says granted balance is used before topped-up balance. (api-docs.deepseek.com)
  • Mistral: No free API tier stated. Neither mistral.ai/pricing nor docs.mistral.ai/inference/pricing states a free API tier; the free plan covers limited Vibe and Mistral Studio access. (mistral.ai)

How it compares

Describe how you chat: messages a day, how long they are, how long the answers run and how long a conversation goes on. The tool works out what that would cost on the API with the model you pick, then sets it against each plan’s monthly price, read from the plan’s own pricing page.

Chat length matters because the API has no memory of its own: each new message sends the earlier part of the conversation again, so a long chat costs more per message than a short one.

What a plan gives that the API price does not show

A subscription includes the apps, file uploads, image and voice features, and in some cases agents and coding tools. The API side of this comparison prices only the text. Plans also have usage limits; the table shows what each vendor’s price page says about them, in its own words.